Well I finished reading Ken Kesey’s Sometimes A Great Notion this week. Kesey as you may or may not know is arguably most famous for writing One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest and he and his gang of degenerates were the inspiration for Tom Wolfe’s The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test.

This book was something of a slog to get through, and now that its over I’m not sure what I thought of it. It wasn’t bad but it wasn’t great either. I could follow the story for the most part but other times I was completely lost. I don’t know if anyone else does this but sometimes after I read a book I go online to make sure I understand what I just read. Its not that my reading comprehension skills are poor its just that some I remember during various undergrad literature classes wondering whether my classmates had read the same material I had because I had no idea what the hell they were talking about. It turns out I got the gist of this book even if some of the finer points escaped me (but I attribute this to having lowbrow tendencies such as an affinity for heavy metal and PBR).

For anyone who hasn’t read (or is interested in doing so) Sometimes A Great Notion the tale of the Stamper clan, a family of Oregonian loggers who are at odds with their small town due to a labor dispute, and further complicating matters is a healthy dose of sibling rivalry.

The Seattle-Post Intelligencer proclaimed this tome as one of 12 essential Northwest books which I guess is a big deal. Personally I would struggle to name 11 other Northwestern books period, and while I’m not pretending to be a giant in the world of literature I’m not babe in the woods either.

Anyways I’m starting to get off the rails as I’m wont to do so I’ll just make one last point. Esquire magazine used the word spermy in their review and I have no idea what in the hell that is supposed to mean.

Leave a Reply

