In case anyone was wondering what I do for a living I am an event photographer for the Army. I document various events such as retirements, promotions, and VIP visits.

This morning I shot a retirement as I’ve done dozens of times, but today’s event was a bit different than usual. For starters it was hosted by the Secretary of the Army who you can probably imagine is a pretty big deal. He was promoting a brigadier general to major general and that in itself is totally ordinary. What stood out is that the acting Secretary of the Army is openly gay as was the general he promoted.

I thought it was pretty cool to be at this ceremony because I like to believe we are becoming more progressive as a society and this was an affirmation of that. Of course I didn’t expect to witness a hate crime at work but everyone in attendance seemed genuinely supportive and happy for this guy.

I don’t believe that someone’s sexuality is a choice and since it affects me in no way, shape, or form whatsoever I am only too happy to co-exist alongside said individuals.

Unfortunately these feelings of goodwill did not extend to another individual in attendance. There was some middle-aged hipster in attendance wearing possibly the dumbest fucking haircut I have ever seen. The best way to describe it is looking exactly like Gary Oldman’s character Zorg from The Fifth Element. For those of you who have never seen it imagine hair about 6 inches long parted perfectly down the middle, but one side shaved. Pretty stupid right? Now imagine that on a human being in a professional environment and maybe you can appreciate my fury. I see this guy every once in a while and every time I do I say to myself what a terrible haircut…your barber belongs in jail…you willingly left the house looking like that!

Am I making too big a deal out of this? No, of course not.

Leave a Reply

