I was on my way to work this morning when I noticed something unusual on the train. Rather I say I noticed someone unusual…a guy reading Mein Kampf like it was the most normal thing in the world. Now, I’m giving the guy the benefit of the doubt because he wasn’t an obvious white supremacist. There were no SS lightning bolts tattooed on his neck or a Macklemore-esque Hitler youth haircut.I would also argue its a text of historical significance worth study. I was just taken aback that someone would be willing to be seen reading it in public. I think if it were me I’d want to disguise it somehow. Wrapping it in a different dust jacket or something.

Additionally my workday was interesting because I met Colin Powell. Well, that’s something of an exaggeration. The truth is I stood next to him for about 2 seconds posing for a photo at a book signing. Saying I meet him sounds better than years from now asking someone if I ever told them about the time I stood next to so and so. It was still an interesting experience because how often do you get to meet a historical figure? The guy was chairman of the joint chiefs and secretary of state. I’d say that’s [retty danged impressive even if he was bamboozled into championing the Iraq War sequel!

With that being said I don’t understand celebrity worship whatsoever. I think some famous people are cool. I wouldn’t mind some of my favorite athletes or musicians but I don’t understand obsessing over them. People who faint when they meet Bieber or other dipshits need to get a life.

I have been star struck on a couple of occasions. The first time was the day I left boot camp and saw the Nature Boy himself, Ric Flair, at O’Hare Airport. He walked no more than 10 feet in front of me and had a bandaid the size of my hand on his face. I was dying to let out a “WHOOO!” but had lost temporary control of my motor skills.

The other time I was at a dive bar in the dystopian hellscape that is Rockford, Illinois. I was there for a Moistboyz show and Mickey Melchiondo walked in front of me and I damn near swooned.

Leave a Reply

