Last night, much like Martin Luther King, I had a dream. Well it was more of a nightmare to be honest. I dreamt a cult was trying to recruit me. It was one of those dreams that’s completely ridiculous but feels real which made it that much more terrifying. Had it been lucid it might have been quite a bit of fun but unfortunately that was not the case.

My dream started with me in high school despite being an adult. The cult’s spokesman was a kid I knew in grad school. In fact the dream featured a whose who of people from my past. Anyways, I don’t remember his sales pitch but I remember it not making sense and me not buying it. I was indignant and woke up this morning proud of my subconscious for the way it behaved. At one point the cultists attempted to blackmail me into joining by attempting to get my fingerprints on a gun. I ran away and during an attempt to notify the authorities I ran into one of my journalism professors from the prestigious Western Illinois University and saved him from being chloroformed. Then I woke up.

I don’t know much about dreams other than I’ve had some pretty strange ones. This is the weirdest I’ve had in a while and I chalk it up to nonsense I’ve been looking in to lately. This past week I finished a book about the Japanese doomsday cult Aum Shinrikyo (The Cult at the End of the World; from the Subways of Tokyo to the Nuclear Arsenals of Russia) . If any youngins or individuals with poor memories are reading Aum was responsible for a sarin gas attack on the Tokyo subway in 1995. A pretty interesting read if you’re interested in being scared shitless.

I also learned recently that the Heaven’s Gate website is still active! Heaven’s Gate was a cult obsessed with the Hale-Bopp comet which members believed was being tailed by a spacecraft that would take their souls to another level of existence. They were led by the hilariously named Marshall Applewhite (do yourself a favor and do a google image search…he looks like someone who would be named Marshall Applewhite). In 1997 38 members of the cult ingested phenobarbital and put plastic bags over their heads until expiration.

Their website is definitely worth checking out. It is extremely dated to put it mildly and looks like it was designed by Lisa Frank. Best of all someone is responding to the email addressed listed! I asked about a book of their “wisdom” but they wanted $50 which is about $49 more than I’m willing to pay to humor them. If you’re eager to learn more and/or laugh you can visit them at the aptly named Heavensgate.com

Leave a Reply

